Artist Response: Lisa Kokin

I find Lisa’s work interesting and conceptual as I mention in my previous post, like how she has sewn images together and create an art piece. However, I personally didn’t like the colour use, but I do understand that she wanted to represent her work to be in the past and that she has use dull and plain colours to represent it aged. In response to her work, I have kept her original concept of using sewing technique and lettering, but I have recreated by adding a little colour and changing to her work. I used coffee to stain a text page to create an old looking effect to represent the time passing like how Lisa’s use of soft colour, but then images was sewn with bright colour thread to allow the image to stand out as the images/ photos are in neutral colours.

Leave a Reply

